Important NOTICE for Indiana Massage Therapists
Are You Ready For The Changes?
MASSAGE Magazine wants to make sure all Indiana Massage Therapists are ready for the changes to state licensure laws that may be coming this year.
Here's the breakdown of the three most important changes underway in Indiana.
1. INCREASED EDUCATIONAL HOURS
Once licensure is in place, Indiana massage therapists will need to show proof of successful completion of 24 hours of continuing education (CE) within the most recent four-year period. Currently, CE is not required.
Additionally, massage students will be required to complete 625 hours of classroom and hands-on instruction, up from the current 500 hours, to apply for a state license.
Once massage school education is completed, a graduate must take one of the following examinations accepted by the Indiana State Board of Massage Therapy:
• The Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination
• The National Board Certification Agency National Certification Examination
• The Board Certification Exam in Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork
After applying for licensure, new massage therapists will have to register for a criminal background check that includes being fingerprinted. With certification, applicants have to simply “provide a history of any criminal convictions the individual has, including any convictions related to the practice of the profession,” according to Indiana legal code.
For information about fees related to licensure and how to schedule a criminal background check, massage therapists should connect with the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.
2. Required Liability Insurance
Many massage therapists are required — by their state governing board, employer or landlord — to possess liability insurance in order to practice. This insurance is a form of risk management that ensures you are relieved from the financial responsibility of a potential loss.
Further, product liability coverage applies to instances where a client may sue a massage therapist due to damage or injury resulting from use of a product, such as a massage lubricant, that causes an allergic reaction, or a faulty table that crashes to the ground in the middle of a massage.
Indiana massage therapists are already required to hold professional liability insurance and must provide proof of insurance when applying for certification. The new rule states that therapists applying for licensure must have minimum coverage of $2 million dollars per claim and $6 million dollars in aggregate.
Professional liability coverage, also known as malpractice insurance, applies to instances where a client may sue a massage therapist due to damages or injury incurred during the course of a session.
Liability insurance is often an annual or bi-annual purchase, Indiana massage therapists may want to consider reviewing their current policy as it comes up for renewal to confirm that their limits will meet the new requirements. Some insurance companies may be adjusting or increasing their policies to meet the new limits in the coming year. (Disclosure: MASSAGE Magazine's sister company, Massage Magazine Insurance Plus, is one organization that has adjusted its coverage to meet the new requirements in Indiana.)
3. The Transition from Certification to Licensure
Currently, certification in Indiana provides for title protection, meaning that anyone practicing massage in the state who is not certified cannot use such titles as “certified massage therapist” or “massage therapist,” or the abbreviations “CMT” or “MT,” when referring to what they practice.
Since the current law doesn’t protect the practice of massage, people without education and certification can currently set up shop touching clients.
The new rule will prevent people who don’t possess massage education from getting massage jobs, “and that’s what’s happening now,” said Nicole Muench, who owns and directs Carmel School of Massage & Healing Arts in Carmel, Indiana.
“I think it will be a good change that will help us, [as] the medical profession will look at our profession [as having] more integrity with this new regulation, because we’ll be licensed as medical professionals are licensed, such as nurses and physical therapists and dental hygienists,” Muench added. “I think that big picture is we will see our industry leaning more toward the clinical, medical setting.”
A component of changes to massage therapy’s reputation could lay in the new licensure rule that therapists must include their license number in any advertisement.
This is an excerpt from an article originally from MASSAGE Magazine.
3 Biggest Changes
INCREASED EDUCATIONAL HOURS
Required Liability Insurance
The Transition from Certification to Licensure
Ready to get the most affordable coverage that already meets Indiana's upcoming change?
• When will these changes happen?
MASSAGE Magazine spoke with Don Hoover, a customer service representative with the Indiana State Board of Massage. He said the changes will go into effect 183 days after the effective date the changes are adopted, and publicized, by the state massage board. The date of adoption is still to be determined
• How do I stay up to date?
The state’s massage therapists should check the board’s website regularly for updates on the transition from certification to licensure, and for the implementation of the additional changes described here.
• Do I need to do anything?
You should consider proactively checking your insurance policy's limits to make sure they meet the new requirements. MASSAGE Magazine Insurance Plus will be increasing our limits for all Indiana insureds effective June 1, 2019 without raising prices to ensure that our policy holders can feel confident their coverage meets the requirements whenever they go into effect. Get covered
MASSAGE Magazine Insurance Plus has coverage that meets the new insurance limits, with no increase in annual price.
To better protect our Indiana insureds we are proactively increasing our annual coverage limits on July 1, 2019 to a $6 million annual aggregate for the same low price.
More Than 30% less than other insurers
We offer what others don't. Included at one low price.
Check out the full policy details below to find out what you're getting for only $159/yr.
Professional & General Liability
$2 million per occurrence/ $6 million annual aggregate
$2 million annual aggregate
Damage to Rental Premises
Stolen Equipment Coverage
$1,000 with a $250 deductible
- Free CEs -- all online, all with instant proof of completion.
- Free Custom Website -- easy to setup and manage through your member portal. Get your online presence established in minutes.
- Discounted Massage Magazine Subscription -- 12 months of MASSAGE Magazine for only $9.95
- Industry Discounts on products -- including 20% off at Rocktape, 30% off at Gaiam, 50% off memberships at Massage World, 20% off at HealthlyLine
- Discounts on Specialty CEs -- $20 ACE Cupping
- Access to -- all MASSAGE Magazine eBooks and playlists
Or call 1-800-222-1110 to speak to a licensed agent.
"Excellent, I will recommend Massage Magazine to anyone, they have everything I need in one place, from CEU's up to insurance, music and more!!! Love it!!!"
Marien, LMT, December 2018
Worry Free Protection with
Copyright 2019 for Massage Magazine