Arkansas Massage Liability Insurance Guidelines
Whether you’re a massage therapy student, teacher, or practitioner in Arkansas, liability insurance is a very important advantage in this profession. Like any other occupation that deals with public health, therapeutic massage is inherently risky. It continuously requires involvement with clients on a physical basis. No matter how skilled or careful you may be, unavoidable situations can occur, and quickly develop into lawsuits. Without proper insurance, claims running into many thousands of dollars in damages and legal fees can be made against you and your business, making you extremely vulnerable to personal disaster. But you can protect yourself and your reputation by taking up quality massage practitioner insurance.
Arkansas Massage Therapist Licensure Requirements
Under Arkansas law, a massage professional must be licensed and certified before he/she can legally practice massage in the state. Applicants must undergo at least 500 hours of supervised course of instruction at an accredited school in the state. They are also required to take and pass a nationally recognized exam – MBLEx and the Arkansas Law Exam. Licensees are required to renew their licenses with a minimum of 18 continuing education hours biennially.
Insurance: Benefits for Massage Practitioners
In Arkansas, it’s not mandatory for massage therapists to carry insurance. But it’s important for you to realize that a client could sue for injury or damage, even though the possibility remains rare. You can think of it much like car insurance; while there’s a big chance you’ll drive all year without encountering an accident, if you do have accident you’ll want and need coverage. The chance of a client filing a claim against you and your business are rare, but that doesn’t negate the fact that it could happen. Ultimately, obtaining coverage simply makes sense, in case a costly, unexpected accident happens to take place. Remember, just because you don’t perform any kind of invasive techniques like other healthcare professionals, doesn’t mean you cannot be sued. Fortunately, massage insurance is quite affordable. You can get an excellent professional insurance policy for as low as only a few hundred dollars every year. This is a small price to pay to enjoy greater peace of mind, knowing that you’re adequately covered, just in case. Furthermore, the cost of coverage is often tax deductible, as a business expense. While the odds of claims being filed against you and your practice remain low, it’s not worth taking the risk, especially when the cost of coverage is so low.
The following are Arkansas state resources, including some employment statistics, to help you determine if being a massage therapist is right for you:
Arkansas Massage Therapy Resources:
State of Arkansas massage employment statistics as of May, 2017:
Licensed Therapists: 2700
Mean Hourly Wage: $20.74
Annual Mean Wage: $43,150
Required Education Hours: 500 hours
Exam Administered: MBLEx
CEUs Required: 18 hours every 2 years
Other Requirements: Liability Insurance
For one low flat fee, massage therapists can receive the quality, comprehensive coverage they deserve, avoiding the costly impact that a lawsuit can bring. Even the most careful massage therapists can make a mistake, or encounter one of those hard-to-please clients that finds fault in a treatment, even if nothing really went wrong.
Required To Have Insurance: NO
Application Process: Online Application for immediate approval.
For additional information about massage therapy in Arkansas, follow these links:
State massage association: ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
State employment stats: https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_ar.htm
Compare Arkansas’s massage therapist employment statistics to other states: