Delaware Massage Liability Insurance Guidelines
Like in most other states, while you do have to be licensed in order to practice in Delaware, it is not required that you have to hold a liability insurance policy in order to practice in the state of Delaware. Due to the fact that there are many insurers that offer coverage, if you are looking to become more prepared and improve your image as a massage therapist, the most logical decision is to buy bodyworker’s insurance coverage, despite the fact that it is not required by the state. You can find great rates and top coverage options when you compare what is available to you in terms of coverage and the types of policies you can choose, ranging from professional liability coverage, to general liability protection, which covers “slip and fall” injuries and accidents. By comparing the types and costs of different policies, you can protect your entire practice for a one low rate.
In order to become licensed to practice in the state of Delaware, there are different requirements in terms of the minimum number of hours that you have to complete at an accredited school. Before attempting the licensing exam, a set number of hours are required, depending on the profession you are obtaining. Temporary CMTs require 200 hours, CMTs require 300, and LMTs require 500. Therefore, in addition to becoming licensed, you have to know how much you are willing to and can put forth, in order to complete the required hours of schooling.
Once schooling hours are completed, the licensing exam NCETMB must be passed. Furthermore, licensed therapists must renew their license biennially for a $118 fee. Additionally, continuing education hours (or CEUs) are required annually: 12 are expected of CMTs, and 24 are expected of LMTs. Depending on your license and title, the requirements will vary, as will the rates, the number, and the type of courses you are going to have to complete on an annual basis.
When you are selecting an insurance policy, as a licensed therapist, you have to know what kind of coverage you want, as well as its limits. At a minimum, most therapists are going to buy $1,000,000 in liability coverage, as this will handle most of the claims that are filed against them. If you run a larger practice, it is probably better to hold other types of protection as well, including slip and fall or personal injury protection. Other types of coverage, including rental and equipment coverage, are also available to therapists, and should be considered when comparing rates and policy types.
Although it is not a requirement in the state of Delaware, it is a good idea to consider getting a massage liability policy. Be sure to compare the rates for top coverage. Not only will you be protecting your name as a therapist and business, you’ll will also be providing peace of mind to your clients and yourself that you have minimized as much risk as possible in your practice.
The following are Delaware state resources, including some employment statistics, to help you determine if being a massage therapist is right for you:
Delaware Massage Therapy Resources:
State of Delaware massage employment statistics as of May, 2017:
Licensed Therapists: 1,057
Mean Hourly Wage: $21.56
Annual Mean Wage: $44,840
Required Education Hours: 500 hours
Exam Administered: MBLEx
CEUs Required: 24 hours every 2 years + CPR Certification
Other Requirements: Liability Insurance
For one low flat fee, massage therapists can receive the quality, comprehensive coverage they deserve, avoiding the costly impact that a lawsuit can bring. Even the most careful massage therapists can make a mistake, or encounter one of those hard-to-please clients that finds fault in a treatment, even if nothing really went wrong.
Application Process: Online Application for immediate approval.
For additional information about massage therapy in Delaware, please follow these links:
State massage association: DELAWARE BOARD OF MASSAGE AND BODYWORK
State employment stats: https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_de.htm
Compare Delaware’s massage therapist employment statistics to other states: