New Mexico Massage Liability Insurance Guidelines
In order to become a massage practitioner in NM, there are a few things an applicant must do prior to becoming a licensed practitioner in the state. Although purchasing an insurance policy is not one of the requirements, it is highly advisable for those who are starting a practice, going to work for an employer, or wanting to protect themselves against the liabilities that come along with this field of work.
New Mexico Massage Licensing Requirements
In order to receive a license to practice as a therapeutic massage professional in NM, applicants must:
– Complete 650 hours of coursework, from one of the board-certified and accredited schools in the state.
– Pass the NCETM/ TMB or the MBLEx exam prior to being eligible to receive a license.
– Comply with all the requirements and send in all relevant information to the board, including: proof of passing the exam, a 2 X 2 photo of yourself, current copy of high school diploma or GED, CPR card, and the official transcript from the school where you completed the 650 required hours.
All information is required prior to receiving your licenses to practice, and applicants who fail to provide all information will experience delays in the process of receiving their license.
Therapists in NM also have to renew their license biennially, for a fee of $125.
Is Liability Insurance Required for Me?
Although it is not a requirement in the state, it is a good idea to look in to purchasing a massage practitioner insurance policy. Before doing so, it is important to compare the rates for the type of policy that you are going to purchase. There are quite a few insurers available, and depending on the type of coverage and protection you are looking for, there are several types of coverage you can buy to shield yourself from liability.
While not required by the state, certain employers may require you to carry liability insurance.If you are interested in a massage therapy policy, there are varying types of coverage and different levels of protection; some of the coverage options available to licensed therapists include:
– Professional liability insurance (malpractice)
– General coverage (trip and fall accidents).
– Product liability, rental damage insurance, or stolen goods coverage.
– Identity protection insurance to protect you from fraud.
These are some of the most common types of coverage, and they are going to provide protection from claims that a customer might file or other forms of loss. So, if you are a licensed massage professional or considering this career path, it is a good idea to protect yourself from liability and choose the best coverage that suits you.
The following are New Mexico state resources, including some employment statistics, to help you determine if being a massage therapist is right for you:
New Mexico Massage Therapy Resources:
State of New Mexico massage employment statistics as of May, 2017:
Licensed Therapists: 340
Mean Hourly Wage: $20.74
Annual Mean Wage: $43,140
Required Education Hours: 650 hours
Written or Practical Exam: Written/Practical
Exam Administered: MBLEx
CEUs Required: 16 hours every 2 years
Other Requirements: Liability Insurance
For one low flat fee, massage therapists can receive the quality, comprehensive coverage they deserve, avoiding the costly impact that a lawsuit can bring. Even the most careful massage therapists can make a mistake, or encounter one of those hard-to-please clients that finds fault in a treatment, even if nothing really went wrong.
Application Process: Online Application for immediate approval.
For additional information about massage therapy in [STATE NAME], follow these links:
State massage association: New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department
State employment stats: https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_nm.htm
Compare New Mexico’s massage therapist employment statistics to other states: