North Dakota Massage Liability Insurance Guidelines
If you are interested in becoming an LMT in North Dakota, you have to know that there are certain requirements that must be adhered to. While there is no requirement in ND for having a policy to practice, having liability coverage is a good idea. At the very least, practitioners should look into liability coverage in terms of injury, so that if they are sued by a client, or if they do actually injure a client, they are going to be covered.
In North Dakota, all applicants who want to sit in for the licensing exam are going to have to complete 750+ hours of specific education, before they will be able to take the licensing exam. Once the hours are completed, in an approved and accredited school, you will have to pass the licensing exam, whether that is the MBLEx or NCETMB.
In addition to being licensed, it is also a requirement for all licensed therapists to renew their license annually, at a rate of $100. Additionally, for those who renew their licenses after the cut-off date, there is a $50 penalty for late renewals. 32 hours of CEUs are also required annually, and a maximum of 12 of those hours can be completed online, for those who want to do so.
Depending on where you work, and the employer you work for, some employers might require all licensed therapists to carry a massage insurance coverage, at least for liability coverage. If you own your own practice, or plan to open your own practice, it is important to consider a policy as well. Not only do clients want to know you are licensed and insured, they are also going to feel more comfortable with a therapist that is covered, and are going to be able to cover the cost, if something does happen while they are getting massaged. Although it is not required by the state, it is good practice and policy to consider purchasing an insurance policy, whether it is liability protection, personal injury (on site injuries like slip and fall), or rental coverage, to ensure you are covered.
There is no telling when a client is going to claim you injured them, and will attempt to sue you and put you out of business. So, although it is not a state requirement to have a massage practitioner policy for personal liability, as a licensed therapist, it is surely in your best interest. Thus, before you purchase, it is a good idea to compare rates, what you get for the rates, and the type of coverage you are interested in, to ensure you are fully protected from any form of liability.
The following are North Dakota state resources, including some employment statistics, to help you determine if being a massage therapist is right for you:
North Dakota Massage Therapy Resources:
State of North Dakota massage employment statistics as of May, 2017:
Licensed Therapists: 726
Mean Hourly Wage: $19.31
Annual Mean Wage: $40,160
Required Education Hours: 750 hours
Exam Administered: MBLEx
CEUs Required: 24 hours every 2 years
Other Requirements: Liability Insurance
For one low flat fee, massage therapists can receive the quality, comprehensive coverage they deserve, avoiding the costly impact that a lawsuit can bring. Even the most careful massage therapists can make a mistake, or encounter one of those hard-to-please clients that finds fault in a treatment, even if nothing really went wrong.
Application Process: Online Application for immediate approval.
For additional information about massage therapy in [STATE NAME], follow these links:
State massage association: ND Board of Massage Therapy
State employment stats: https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_nd.htm