Florida Massage Liability Insurance Guidelines
|State Board||Florida Board of Massage Therapy
floridasmassagetherapy.gov or (850) 488-0595
|Designation||Licensed Massage Therapist (LMT)|
|Required Education||500 hours|
|Written or Practical Exam||Written|
|Exam Administered||MBLEx OR NCBTMB|
|Renewal Fee||$105 prior to renewal date|
|Required CEs||24 CEs every two years (12 live hours, 12 online hours)|
|Renewal Date||August 31 of every odd year|
Continuing Education Requirements
To renew your massage license, Florida requires each massage therapist to submit 24 continuing education units (CEs) on August 31 of every odd-numbered year. While the state requires 12 hours of live classroom instruction, LMTs may take up to 12 online courses to fulfill the rest of their requirement. Among these courses, all resident massage therapists must include:
- 2 hours of Florida MT laws and rules
- 2 hours of professional ethics
- 2 hours of medical errors
- 6 hours of general courses, e.g., communication, insurance, client-therapist relations, risk management, infection control, and practice management
In addition to the 24 CE hours, each licensee must complete at least a one-hour HIV/AIDS course. MASSAGE Magazine's online CE library includes all of the aforementioned courses, along with more than 200 diverse continuing education hours. Enroll today to receive all of your online CE hours, including those required by the Florida Board of Massage Therapy, for the groundbreaking rate of $29.95.
MASSAGE Magazine's CEs are affordable, accessible and NCBTMB approved (Provider #451771-11). Once you complete a class and pass the online exam, you receive instant proof of course completion; and the hours are automatically reported to the state of Florida.
With unlimited online access to the library, subscribers may re-watch courses at any time and complete them at their convenience. Since they are accessible from a mobile phone, tablet or computer, massage therapists can even earn their CE hours on the go. Learn more.
In the state of Florida, you need a license to practice as a massage therapy professional. You’ll also need to purchase massage liability insurance before you can be admitted in to work in most health associations in Florida. It will also be difficult for any professional bodyworker to find a job in some medical institutions without carrying a massage insurance policy.
As a professional massage therapist with a practiced eye and deft hands, you may never think that anything could go wrong with your professional service, especially if this service is backed by years of experience. The moment you get into your massage practice, all you think about is wellness. With this kind of health-oriented mentality, you may also assume all will be well. Of course, all may have been going very well over the years. However, accidents do happen in every profession; and while everything may be running smoothly for you, risks still exist. Some individuals, too, may use the slightest error or negligence on your part to claim damages that may even have resulted from other causes. That is precisely the reason why you need to protect yourself and your profession.
Some people may not give serious importance to massage practitioner insurance because they have never had any serious complaints from clients. Some may even dismiss this kind of insurance, which can be a very serious mistake. You can lose a lot of money and suffer reputation damage if a client complains that he or she feels some pain due to a massage session you administered. Clients can sue you for using massage oils that affect their health in the slightest manner. In some circumstances, a professional touch therapist can be sued for “slip and fall” accidents that occurred on his or her property. The right insurance coverage can help you handle these claims and lawsuits resulting from your practice.
Professional, also known as malpractice, insurance covers you in occasions where you are sued for professional negligence or malpractice. This coverage works for you if a client sues you for injuries or accidents during treatment. You’ll need product liability insurance in the event that the products you use with clients for healing purposes cause damage to them. General liability insurance provides protection against claims associated with accidents occurring on your property, such as a slip, fall and subsequent broken bone, for instance.
Massage Magazine Insurance Plus includes all of the aforementioned coverage types, offering massage therapists the most comprehensive insurance solution at the most affordable rate—only $159 per year. Click here to enroll today and receive immediate coverage; or check out our professional insurance center for more information about our program.
By securing liability insurance for massage, you protect your profession and increase the chances of being hired by reputable medical employers. Carrying an insurance policy will also provide proof to clients of your professionalism and dedication to the services you offer. Clients want to be sure that the professionals to whom they entrust their health take such complete care in every aspect of the massage practice.
Insurance + CEs
Members of Massage Magazine Insurance Plus receive an exclusive discounted rate on MASSAGE Magazine’s CE package. The insurance policy comprises professional and general liability insurance, product liability, rental damage insurance, an identity protection plan and stolen equipment coverage for $159 per year.
For an additional $19.95 per year, members will also have access to unlimited online massage CEs to fulfill their state requirements. To redeem this offer, simply select the “CE package” option on your insurance application.
Sign up today to receive unlimited online CE courses, including those required by the Florida Board of Massage Therapy, in addition to one year of full massage liability coverage—all for a total of $178.95!