South Dakota Massage Liability Insurance Guidelines
When considering practicing therapeutic massage in South Dakota, one of the few things is often overlooked is the importance of South Dakota massage insurance. While most people focus on the many different statutes and regulations imposed by the South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy, few people consider what is actually involved after they obtain their license. As a result, many massage therapists leave their practice open to lawsuits and dangerous claims that could easily drive them out of business.
South Dakota License Requirements
In thinking about practicing in South Dakota, the first things to consider are the requirements to obtain a license: a certified education of 500+ hours from a recognized facility (must include anatomy, kinesiology, physiology, pathology, and massage theory/application), training in a complementary field to massage, 10 hours of business and ethics education, and passage of one of the recognized national examinations. After earning your license, 8 hours of continuing education (CEU) must be completed every two years.
Massage Therapy Insurance
Once a license has been obtained, it is time to start practicing. In South Dakota, just like anywhere else in the country, practitioners are increasingly looking towards insurance coverage for massage to protect their investment in their work. Any practice is open to claims of injury and malpractice, no matter what the field of medicine or therapy. As a massage practitioner, you work with individuals who may be injured or experience pain. In order to protect yourself and your practice from financial hardship and claims, consider getting an LMT insurance policy.
In addition to financial protection, individuals and practices can also find comfort in knowing that South Dakota massage insurance comes with an experienced team to help handle any claim. These teams are knowledgeable not only with claims, but can help advise clients and protect them in the event that legal proceedings are brought about.
Just like with any claim or legal process, costs can skyrocket at a moment’s notice. Fortunately, liability insurance for massage therapists protects practitioners and gives them peace of mind so they can practice with ease. This insurance not only protects you and your business, but also protects your clients as well. These policies are a great way to ensure that your clients receive the best treatments and therapies available, without the danger of injury or bodily harm.
No massage practitioner wants to think about the potential of causing harm to their clients. Every practitioner in South Dakota has received extensive training to provide the utmost care to their clients. By opting to protect yourself and your investment in your education, you can ensure that your practice is secure and that you will be able to practice with peace of mind. Obtaining an education and a license is not an inexpensive investment in South Dakota, though it is easy and vital to protect this investment with the best liability insurance for your practice and yourself.
Or click here to apply for insurance.
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 730
Phone: (605) 224-1721
Web Site: South Dakota Board of MT
Required Education: 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam: Written
Exam Administered: AMMA, MBLEx, or NCETM
Renewal Fee: $45 a year
CEUs Required: 8 every 2 years