Texas Massage Liability Insurance Guidelines
The number of people receiving massages has increased over the past twenty years, as more people seek this treatment for a variety of ailments. With approximately 38 million people getting a massage at least once a year, it is clear that this form of therapy will continue to increase over time. With this increase in popularity, however, comes the massage professional’s increase in the risk of being sued. Massage liability insurance can help protect touch therapists and bodyworkers and provide them with peace of mind to practice their profession.
This increase in people seeking massage therapy can be directly attributed to education in the medical community, as well as in the public at large, over the health benefits of getting a message. Many people seek out treatment for aches and pains, including lower back pain. Massages can help relax the muscles and increase blood flow, which can help them heal. It also releases dopamine and serotonin in the brain, which can help block pain receptors. This also helps increase mood and can improve brain energy. Because of this increase, licensing has become very strict and governed at the state level, as it is it with many professions.
Because massages can include getting deep into muscles and connective tissues, and because more people with more serious health ailments are seeking out massages, this increases the risk of injury in the client. If a person is injured while getting a massage, they will almost certainly look to sue the massage therapy professional to pay for damages. Even if the case is baseless or without merit, hiring and attorney to defend you can cost significant amounts of time and money. Insurance for massage professionals removes this risk, allowing the massage professional to help other people without worrying about pending litigation. The small cost of this insurance will be more than paid if an injury claim is filed.
Currently, the state of Texas does not require massage practitioners to carry liability insurance. It does, however, require that touch therapists and bodyworkers be licensed through the state. These requirements are laid out in Chapter 455 of Texas’ statutes. This chapter lays out the requirements for obtaining a license, including taking 500 hours worth of coursework at a licensed massage therapy school. The massage practitioner needs courses in massage technique, as well as anatomy, physiology, kinesiology, pathology, and hydrotherapy. With so much education required to obtain a license, it is a good idea to obtain massage insurance in order to ensure your practice can continue.
No matter what your needs, there is certainly a massage liability insurance policy that will fit your budget and fit your practice. To find out how we can provide the coverage you need, contact us today.
Or click here to apply for insurance.
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 26,347
Phone: (512) 834-6616
Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/massage
Required Education: 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam: Written
Exam Administered: NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee: $106 every 2 years
CEUs Required: 12 every 2 years