Utah Professional Massage and Bodywork Insurance
Most massage practitioners can practice without insurance. Nonetheless, more and more establishments are requiring their therapists to procure liability or professional insurance for adequate coverage. Massage insurance is coverage for professional and product liability to protect the therapist from the financial consequences of lawsuits. If you want to practice in Utah, purchasing massage insurance simply makes sense.
State Requirements for Practice
The state of Utah does not require its LMTs to practice with insurance. Qualifications to obtain a license for practice in the state requires 600+ hours of apprenticeship/instruction hours, and the passage of the MBLEx and Utah State Rule and Law examination. The national examination (MBLEx) will cover areas like anatomy and physiology, therapeutic massage assessment, principles and standards. As soon as the professional is given a license, he or she is eligible to practice in the State.
Kinds of Insurance for Massage Therapists
Massage therapists in Utah can enjoy coverage when they buy massage practitioner insurance, which is part of general insurance, protecting the professional from legal claims as long as such claims are covered by the policy. Although massage therapy is not an extremely hazardous occupation, accidents can still occur in the workplace, which could result in injury to clients, which could further result in legal claims.
Without insurance, the therapist is left to fight these claims with his own money, which could produce negative professional and economic consequences for him later on.
Kinds of Insurance
The most common kinds of liability insurance include professional liability/malpractice, general liability (trips and falls), product liability (clients suffer adverse reactions to massage products), and additional coverage. Experts recommend getting general insurance to get you started with basic coverage, especially if you cannot afford any other policies just yet. If you can, however, invest in multiple policies, some insurance companies offer bonuses, such as coverage for missing valuables, free professional websites, free listings, and the like.
When to Take Out Massage Therapy Insurance
An insurance policy will provide adequate coverage for legal claims to avoid financial ruin in the event of lawsuits. As soon as he starts his practice, a therapist should buy insurance, as it will ensure full coverage for every day of practice. In some instance, an establishment itself will require its therapists to procure insurance as a requirement for hiring, so applicants must have insurance ready before they can be eligible for the position.
For good reasons, more and more therapists are seeing liability insurance as one of the essentials to cover as they prepare for professional practice. Massage practitioner insurance can provide the right coverage needed to protect a massage therapist from the financial damage that may be suffered if a lawsuit ensues. Though the potential for accidents is slim, the presence of comprehensive coverage for unexpected eventualities can give any therapist the peace of mind she needs to work and practice in Utah with confidence.
Or click here to apply for insurance.
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 5,509
Phone: (801) 530-6628
Web Site: https://dopl.utah.gov/
Required Education: 600 hours
Written or Practical Exam: Written
Exam Administered: MBLEx, State Exam
Renewal Fee: $52 every two years
CEUs Required: None