West Virginia Massage Licensing and Insurance Requirements
If you are planning on becoming a licensed massage therapist in West Virginia, you have to know the state requirements to practice. Although having a massage liability insurance policy is not one of the prerequisites, it is a still a good idea for you to look into buying a liability protection policy-once you do become licensed to practice in the state. Not only do you get (at a minimum) $1,000,000 in liability coverage with most top providers, you can also purchase other forms of coverage, so that you are not paying everything out of pocket.
When trying to become licensed, you have to complete 500+ hours of class at an accredited institution, in order to be eligible to attempt the written licensing exam, whether that is the NCETMB or the MBLEx. Additionally, you must keep your license up to date, and educate yourself of all current rules, laws, and practice regulations when renewing your license, which must be done biennially for a fee of $200. Furthermore, all licensed therapists must complete the 24 CEUs every 2 years, and 3 of them having to be in ethics.
When deciding on the coverage, insurer, and type of coverage to buy, it is in your best interest to call around or compare quotes online. By doing so, you will be able to find the best rates, that suit your specific needs. As a therapist, not only do you want to shield any professional liability, but also to cover your enter professional life, maintaining as much protection as you can/want. You are going to find that the monthly cost for your premium is far less than what you would pay in the event you were sued for malpractice or for other issues. This is just obvious reason as to why protection will positively save you if an unfortunate crisis does occur.
The following are West Virginia state resources, including some employment statistics, to help you determine if being a massage therapist is right for you:
West Virginia Massage Therapy Resources:
State of West Virginia massage employment statistics as of May, 2017:
Licensed Therapists: 1,147
Mean Hourly Wage: $15.23
Annual Mean Wage: $31,680
Required Education Hours: 500 hours
Exam Administered: MBLEx
CEUs Required: 24 hours every 2 years
Other Requirements: Liability Insurance
For one low flat fee, massage therapists can receive the quality, comprehensive coverage they deserve, avoiding the costly impact that a lawsuit can bring. Even the most careful massage therapists can make a mistake, or encounter one of those hard-to-please clients that finds fault in a treatment, even if nothing really went wrong.
Required To Have Insurance: NO
Application Process: Online Application for immediate approval.
For additional information about massage therapy in [STATE NAME], follow these links:
State massage association: West Virginia Massage Therapy Licensure Board
State employment stats: https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_wv.htm
Compare West Virginia’s massage therapist employment statistics to other states: