Colorado Massage Liability Insurance Requirements
The moment you step into your massage room, with everything in its place, ordered and neat, all you think about is wellness. Yes, that is your profession, enhancing wellness in others through therapeutic massage. You will not think that anything can go wrong, especially if you have been in this practice for many years. It is expected that nothing can go awry as it has not in the past, and all you take pride in your satisfied customers and your business’s exceptional reputation. With this positive and wellness-driven image emblazoned in your thoughts, you may believe that buying an insurance policy as a massage professional in Colorado is simply not necessary.
First off, you should know that insurance is required for every professional massage therapist in the state of Colorado. All registered massage therapists and bodywork professionals in Colorado are required to have a diploma or degree obtained after education and training from an approved massage school. They are also required to pass the approved exam for their profession, NCETMB/ NCETM or MBLEx, and comply with exemptions. However, while massage insurance is not required by the state, it is ideal that every touch therapist carries insurance.
No matter how excellent your skills are, you cannot guarantee that nothing will ever go wrong at your professional practice. No professional can be careful enough, as there are situations that are out of an individual’s sphere of control. In some cases, a client is simply searching for the smallest error possible in order to sue, whether that is a slip and fall accident occurring in your business premises, a wrong product used, or a simple oversight. Claims can be very damaging to both you and your business, as well as incredibly stressful. In addition to losing money, the reputation of your practice can be damaged without repair through claims. The right massage therapist insurance will cover all of these scenarios that may occur in the state of Colorado.
Insurance coverage has many benefits for massage professionals. The types of insurance and its benefits depend on your business’s specific needs. Professional liability insurance, also known as malpractice insurance, will cover claims related to lack of professional skills or misconduct that results in injuries. Even if you have the right skills and experience, you cannot be sure that all clients will believe this. This coverage can provide up to $2 million per occurrence. General liability coverage will cover claims for injuries or accidents occurring on the premises of your business, such as slip and fall accidents. Product liability coverage will protect you against claims related to injuries resulting from the product you use. There are other types of insurance coverage that you can consider which will cover a range of other possible claims.
In considering your specific needs, the right coverage can save you and your business. Shopping around and comparing insurance rates is also important, as it will help you find a policy that is most affordable for you, providing you with both physical protection and peace of mind.
Get insured today:
Or click here to apply for insurance.
Number of credentialed practitioners in this state: 18,249
Phone: (303) 894-7800
Web Site: https://www.colorado.gov/
Required Education: 500 hours
Written or Practical Exam: Written
Exam Administered: NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal Fee: $44 every 2 years
CEUs Required: N/A