Massage Liability Insurance Requirements by State

Massage insurance serves as a safety net for massage therapists to protect themselves and their massage practices against any potential liability, massage malpractice, and other unfortunate occurrences that may happen. Even the very best LMTs may encounter a lawsuit, whether or not they happen to be at fault.

Life is unpredictable, and in the hands-on profession of massage therapy, unpredictable events can cause unexpected and problematic issues. Accidents or miscommunications can lead to significant claims, which is why a number of states require massage practitioners to have coverage.

It’s very important that you thoroughly investigate your state’s regulations and laws regarding insurance for licensed massage therapists. Certain states require that every therapist carry insurance in order to obtain a license. Other states may have region or county-specific rules. Remember, too, that while states themselves may not make insurance mandatory, more places of business and landlords are requiring LMTs to carry their own coverage.

Below, please find a list of states and their requirements for LMT insurance. While we make every effort to maintain the most current information available, please keep in mind that state regulations do change, and some states may pass new requirements that aren’t immediately updated in our comprehensive database.

An easy way to put your mind at ease is to carry insurance for your practice whether or not your state requires it. A policy through Massage Magazine Insurance Plus (MMIP) is only $159 a year, which is a relatively low cost to pay to provide you with the peace of mind that you’re in compliance and protected from an unexpected claim.

You’ve invested in your massage career, and having insurance will help you protect that investment, as well as your professional reputation. MMIP offers the most comprehensive coverage for the lowest cost, which means you can rest assured knowing that you’ve gotten the best coverage in the marketplace.

Enroll in MMIP today with our instant application, and enjoy complete coverage once it is processed. At just $159 per year, and $25 per year for students, why wouldn’t you want to sign up with MMIP?

(800) 222-1110

Or click here to apply for insurance.

State Type of Credential Prerequisites Training Instructor License Renewal Reciprocity CEUs State Contact Information
Alabama Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• Has never have knowingly performed massage therapy at a sexually-oriented business
• Has never plead “no contest” to crimes pertaining to prostitution or sexual offense within three years prior to license application
• 650 hours
• MBLEx
• Hold and maintain a current AL license
• Submit application form and fee
• Show proof of two years of work experience
• Every two years
• $100
• Instructor license: $10
None 16 every 2 years 866) 873-4664
www.almtbd.state.al.us
Alaska No state regulation
Arizona Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• U.S. citizen or legal resident
• Be of good moral character
• High school diploma or equivalent or pass an ability to benefit exam
• Has not having been convicted of a class 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 felony within 5 years prior to license application
• Has not have a prostitution-related misdemeanor or similar offense
• Has not voluntarily surrendered a license or had a license revoked
• Not currently under investigation, suspension or restriction for an act subject to discipline by the chapter
• 700 hours
• MBLEx
None • Every other year, on licensee’s birthday
• $95
• Licensed in another state for five years continuously prior to application
• Home state board has equivalent standards to those of AZ
• Holds a current certification from the NCBTMB or other agency with standards regarding competency and, education and training equivalent to the AZ chapter
• Submit documentation showing whether or not the applicant has received disciplinary actions from previous boards, or if there is a pending unresolved complaint
24 every 2 years (602) 542-8604
www.massageboard.az.gov
Arkansas • Massage Therapist/License
• Master Massage/Therapist/Instructor
• At least 18 years old
• High school diploma or GED
• Tested and determined free of infectious tuberculosis
• Authorize a personal criminal background check
• 500 hours
• MBLEx and State Law Exam
• Holds a current license
• Registered as master massage therapist for no less than 3 years prior to application for instructor title
• Completed no less than 250 CE hours approved by board as a licensed master massage therapist
• Determined by Board qualified to practice massage therapy
• Every two years, on the licensee’s birth date
• Therapist license: $80
• Master license: $80
• Instructor: $80
Home state must have equivalent licensure requirements as those in AR 18 every 2 years (501) 683-1448
www.arkansasmassagetherapy.com
California • Massage Practitioner/Certification
• Massage Therapist/Certification
At least 18 years old • 250 hours for Massage Practitioner
• 500 hours for Massage Therapist
• Exam not required
N/A • Every 2 years
• $150
• Hold a valid license in another U.S. state or Canadian province Not required (916) 669-5336
www.camtc.org
Colorado Massage Therapist/Registration U.S. citizen or legal resident • 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $79/2yr • Complete a massage therapy program of at least 500 course work hours
• Pass one exam:
• NCETMB, MBLEx OR director-approved exam
• Have fingertips taken
Not required (303) 894-7800
www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/massagetherapists
Connecticut Massage Therapist/License High school diploma or G.E.D. • 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $250/2yr N/A 24 every 4 years (860) 509-7603
www.dph.state.ct.us
Delaware • Massage Technician/Certified
• Massage Therapist/License
At least 18 years old • Massage Technician/Certified
-300 hours
-Exam not required
• Massage Therapist/License
-500 hours
-MBLEx
N/A $118/2yr Hold a current license in home state, having been licensed and practiced two continuous years in the same state • Massage Technician/Certified- 12 every 2 years
• Massage Therapist/License- 24 every 2 years
(302) 744-4500
www.dpr.delaware.gov
Florida Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• High school diploma or G.E.D.
• 500 hours
•MBLEx
N/A $105/2yr • Available through endorsement
• At least 18 years old, with a high school diploma or G.E.D.
• Completed at least 500 hours of training
• Verification of license
• Passed a board-approved exam
• Provide any disciplinary action that may have been taken against license
24 every 2 years (850) 245-4161
www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/massage
Georgia Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
•High school diploma or G.E.D.
• 500 hours
• MBLEx
• Hold a current license
• At least 2 years or 2,000 hours of work experience
$75/2yr • Available through endorsement
• At least 18 years old, with a high school diploma or G.E.D.
• Hold a current license in another jurisdiction/state of the U.S.
• Current state must have licensure standards equal to those of GA
• Passed a Board-approved National Exam
• Completed at least 500 hours of training
24 every 2 years (478) 207-2440
www.sos.georgia.gov/plb/massage
Hawaii Massage Therapist/License N/A • 570 hours
• State exam
N/A $120/2yr • No license can be transferred to HI
• Massage therapist must apply for a HI license and meet license requirements:
-570 hours
-State exam
• Must pass a Hawaii massage license exam; other states’ exams won’t be accepted
Not required (808) 586-3000
www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/pvl/boards/massage
Idaho Massage Therapist/License • At least 16.5 years old
• 10th grade education
• 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $75/yr • Available through endorsement
• Must hold an active license in home state for 3 of the previous 5 years
• Meet ID training requirements
• Show proof of having taken practical and written exams
6 every year (208) 334-3233
ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/
Illinois Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• Must be of good moral character
• 600 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $175/2yr • Available by endorsement
• At least 18 years old, and of good moral character
• Must hold active license, in state with requirements that satisfy those of IL
• Show proof of having at least 600 hours of instruction
• Show proof of passing exam from FSMTB or NCBTMB
• Evidence of fingerprint processing
24 every 2 years (800) 560-6420
www.idfpr.com
Indiana Massage Therapist/Certification • At least 18 years old
•High school diploma or G.E.D.
• 500 hours
• MBLEx or an exam deemed equivalent by the Board
N/A $150/4yr • Available by endorsement
• At least 18 years old, and of good moral character
• Must hold active license, in state with requirements that satisfy those of IL
• Show proof of having at least 600 hours of instruction
• Show proof of passing exam from FSMTB or NCBTMB
• Evidence of fingerprint processing
Not required (317) 234-2051
www.in.gov/pla/massage.htm
Iowa Massage Therapist/License At least 18 years old • 600 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $60/2yr • Available by endorsement
• Proof of having met licensure requirements similar to those of IA
• Proof of passing any NCBTMB exam
• Provide license verification from any jurisdiction applicant has been licensed under
24 every 2 years (515) 281-6959
www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure
Kansas No state regulation N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Kentucky Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• Is of good moral character
• 600 hours
• MBLEx, OH and NY State Exams
• Instructor of practical courses:
Licensed as MT and have 3 years of work experience
• Instructor of science courses:
Licensed as MT
Have 3 years of work experience or certification/specific training in subject being taught
• Instructors in adjunctive courses:
Subject-specific education and experience
$100/2yr • Holds a current license in another U.S. state, having standards equivalent to those of KY
• Endorsement available to those licensed under jurisdiction with standards lesser than those of KY:
-Board determines equivalent of applicant’s training, work experience, CEUs
-applicant may appeal to board for experience and education to meet criteria
24 every 2 years (502) 564-3296, ext. 239
www.bmt.ky.gov/
Louisiana Massage Therapist/License N/A • 500 hours
• NCETMB, MBLEx or NCCAOM
N/A $125/yr N/A 12 every year (225) 756-3488
www.labmt.org
Maine Massage Therapist/License High school diploma or G.E.D. 500 hours or MBLEx N/A $40/yr • Hold a current license in another state
• Completed/signed application
• Pay fees:
• Application Fee: $25
• Licensure Fee: $40.00
• Criminal History Check Fee: $21
• High school diploma or G.E.D.
• CPR certification
• First Aid certification
• Provide transcript from massage therapy school
• Score report from the NCBTMB or from FSMTB for passage documentation
Not required (207) 624-8626
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing
Maryland • Massage Practitioner/Registration
• Massage Therapist/License
At least 18 years old • Massage Practitioner/Registration- 500 hours
• Massage Therapist/License- 500 hours + 60 college credits
• MBLEx, NCCAOM and State Exam
N/A • $250/2yr (RMP)
• $278/2yr (LMT)
• Proof of fulfilling education requirements:
-60 college coursework credit hours
-500 hours of massage therapy training
• Proof of passing NCBTMB exam or NNCAOM Asian Bodywork Therapy exam
• Pass the MD massage therapy jurisdiction exam
24 every 2 years (410) 764-4738
www.mdmassage.org
Massachusetts Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• Provide board with two professional reference letters
• Be of good moral character
650 hours N/A $150/yr • License requirements of home state must by equivalent to or exceed those of MA Not required (617) 727-3074
www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/mt/index.htm
Michigan Massage Therapist/License High school diploma or G.E.D. • 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $225/3yr • Available by endorsement
• Must have a high school diploma or G.E.D.
• Have proof of passing the MBLEx, NCETM, or NCETMB sent to the MI Board
• Have certification sent to the MI Board
Not required (517) 335-0918
www.michigan.gov/healthlicense
Minnesota Freedom of Access laws in effect—contact state or local entity for information. N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A (651) 201-3731
www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/hop/ocap/index.html
Mississippi Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• High school diploma or G.E.D.
• Must be of legal status
• 700 hours
• MBLEx or State exam
N/A $200/2yr N/A 24 every 2 years (601) 732-6038
www.msbmt.st ate.ms.us
Missouri Massage Therapist/License N/A • 500 hours
• MBLEx, NCCAOM, ABT, AMMANCE, NBCE or Exam approved by Board
N/A $100/2yr • Provide two sets of fingerprints for criminal background check
• Provide a copy of current license
• Completed application and fee
12 every 2 years (573) 522-6277
http://pr.mo.gov/massage.asp
Montana Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• Provide two letters attesting to applicant’s good moral character
• 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $90/yr N/A 12 every 2 years (406) 841-2202
www.massagetherapists.mt.gov
Nebraska Massage Therapist/License • At least 19 years old
• Be of good moral character
• 1,000 hours
• ACE or MBLEx
N/A $110/2yr • Currently licensed by another jurisdiction
• Completed 1,000 hours of massage training
*may be obtained or met through a massage therapy program, work experience and/or CEUs
• Pass Board-approved exam by NCBTMB or FSMTB
• Pass the Board-developed jurisprudence examination, with a score of at least 75%
24 every 2 years (402) 471-2117
www.dhhs.ne.gov
Nevada Massage Therapist/License At least 18 years old • 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $150/yr • Certified Statement from State Licensing Authority Form from home state or two fingerprint cards with a cashier check or money
• Take and pass the MBLEx.
• Submit completed application
12 every year (775) 687-9955
www.massagetherapy.nv.gov
New Hampshire Massage Therapist/License • Have good mental and physical health
• Must not be convicted in NH or any other state of any crimes involving:
-Violence against a person
-Violence threatened against a person
-Sexually-related
• Hold and maintain current certifications:
-Adult CPR
First Aid
• 750 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $100/2yr • Provide a copy of current certification from massage therapy school
• Submit official school transcripts
• Passed written exam
• Name of each state in which applicant has held or still holds a massage therapists license
• Provide copy of current first aid certification
• Provide copy of current CPR certification
• Statement reflecting applicant is in good mental and physical health, and stating applicant hasn’t been involved of a crime involving:
-Violence against a person
– Violence threatened against a person
–Sexually-related
12 every 2 years (603) 271-9254
www.dhhs.nh.gov/oos/blc/massage
New Jersey Massage Therapist/License N/A • 500 hours or written exam
• MBLEx or NCCAOM
N/A $120/2yr • Available by endorsement
• Must have a license from a home state with requirements equivalent to those of NJ
20 every 2 years (973) 504-6520
www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/massage
New Mexico Massage Therapist/License N/A • 650 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $125/2yr • Must hold a current NM license
• Proof of having been in practice two of the three years preceding application
• Proof of completing 50 contact hours from experience of professional teaching, or workshop instruction
16 every 2 years (505) 476-4870
www.rld.state.nm.us
New York Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• Be of good moral character
• Completed a CPR course within 3 years prior to licensure
800 hours + 5 years’ experience and MBLEx OR 1,000 hours + 2-4 years’ experience and MBLEx OR 1,000 hours + no experience and State Exa N/A $103/3yr • Available by endorsement
• Hold current license in another state, in good standing
• Have practiced for at least 2 years
• At least 21 years old
• High school diploma or G.E.D.
• Passed the NY State massage therapy exam
• United States citizen or legal resident
• Determined to have good moral character
• Completed a CPR course within 3 years prior to licensure
• If having been licensed and practiced in another state for 2-4 years:
-completed 1,000 education hours
-proof of 2 years of work experience
-passed written exam
OR
-passed written exam of state currently licensed under
• If having been licensed and practiced in another state for 5 years or more:
-completed 500 hours from an approved massage therapy program
-completed 800 hours of classroom instruction
-proof of 5 years (within 10 years) work experience
-passed written exam for home state licensure
36 every 3 years (518) 474-3817, ext. 150
www.massagetherapists.mt.gov
North Carolina Massage and Bodywork Therapist/License High school diploma or G.E.D. • 500 hours
• ABTE or MBLEx
N/A $100/2yr Endorsement A
• High school diploma or G.E.D.
• Hold a current license
• Provide 4 statements of Moral Character and Professional Competence
• Proficiency in English language
• U.S. citizen or legal resident
Endorsement B
• High school diploma or G.E.D.
• Official score of one of these exams:
(a) NCETMB, (b) NCETM, (c) NCETMB – NESL option, (d) NCETM – NESL option (e) ABTE or (f) MBLEx
• Proof of having graduated from a massage and bodywork therapy school with curriculum equivalent to NC Board’s standards
• Proof of professional training
• Proof of good standing
• Proficiency in English language
• U.S. citizen or legal resident
24 every 2 years (919) 546-0050
www.bmbt.org
North Dakota Massage Therapist/License High school diploma or G.E.D. • 750 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $100/yr Reciprocity 1
Holds current license, in good standing
Home state’s requirements must meet those of ND
Licensed and practiced for at least 2 years prior to application
Reciprocity 2
Holds current license, in good standing
Home state’s requirements similar to those of ND
Practiced for 5 years immediately before application
32 every 2 years (701) 872-4895
www.ndboardofmassage.com
Ohio Massage Therapist/License High school diploma or G.E.D. • 750 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $100/2yr • No reciprocity program
• Hold a current license in another U.S. state or Canadian license, for 5 consecutive years
• Pass MBLEx
Not required (614) 466-3934
www.med.ohio.gov
Oklahoma No state regulation
Oregon Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
•High school diploma or G.E.D.
• 500 hours
•MBLEx, CESI and State Exams
N/A $150/2yr • Available by endorsement; reviewed on an individual basis
• The only jurisdictions that might qualify:
–United States:
NH; if application took the state-administered practical exam
WA; if application took the state-administered practical exam
–Canada:
Newfoundland and Labrador
Ontario
Vancouver BC
• Home state’s licensing must be equal to or exceed those or OR
• Must have passed written and practical exam equal to or exceeding that of OR
25 every 2 years (503) 365-8657
www.oregon.gov/obmt/
Pennsylvania Massage Therapist/License High school diploma or G.E.D. • 600 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $75/2yr N/A 24 every 2 years (717) 783-7155
www.dos.state.pa.us/massagetherapy
Rhode Island Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• Be of good moral character
• 500 hours
•MBLEx
N/A $65/yr • U.S. citizen or legal resident
• Provide transcript from approved program
• Score from NCBTMB
• Three letters of good moral character
• Completion of First Aid and CPR course
• Apply for nationwide criminal records check
• Must not have been convicted of any sexual offense
Not required (401) 222-2828
www.health.ri.gov
South Carolina Massage/Bodywork Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• High school diploma or G.E.D.
• 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $75/2yr • Hold current license in another state
• Current state’s license standards must be at least equal to those of SC
12 every 2 years (803) 896-4588
http://llronline.com/pol/massagetherapy
South Dakota Massage Therapist/License • At least 18 years old
• High school diploma or G.E.D.
• 500 hours
• AMMA, MBLEx or NCETM
N/A $45/yr • High school diploma or G.E.D.
• Hold a current license
• Proof of completion of 500 training hours
• Passed national certification exam
8 every 2 years (605) 224-1721
http://doh.sd.gov/boards/massage
Tennessee Massage Therapist/License N/A • 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $185/2yr N/A 25 every 2 years (615) 253-2111
health.state.tn.us/boards/massage/
Texas Massage Therapist/License N/A • 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $106/2yr N/A 12 every 2 years (512) 834-6616
www.dshs.state.tx.us/massage
Utah • Massage Therapist/License
• Massage Therapist Apprentice/License
N/A • Massage Therapist/License
– 600 hours
• Massage Therapist Apprentice/License-
-1,000-hour apprenticeship
• MBLEx and State Exam
N/A $52/2yr N/A Not required (801) 530-6628
www.dopl.utah.gov
Vermont No state regulation N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Virginia Massage Therapist/Certification At least 18 years old • 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $95/2yr N/A 24 every 2 years (804) 367-4515
www.dhp.virginia.gov
Washington Massage Practitioner/License N/A • 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $65/yr N/A 24 every 2 years (360) 236-4700
www.doh.wa.gov
Washington, D.C. Massage Therapist/License At least 18 years old • 500 hours
•Exam certified by NCCA and approved by the Board
N/A $177/2yr • Available by endorsement
• Completion of 500 in-class training hours
• Pass the NCETMB exam
12 every 2 years (877) 672-217
www.hpla.doh. dc.gov
West Virginia Massage Therapist/License High school diploma • 500 hours
• MBLEx
N/A $200/2yr • Provide the board with:
-Copy of current license
-information regarding any investigations or disciplinary actions that may have been taken regarding his or her licensure
-documentation of completed CEUs in the last 2 years
-NCBTMB certificate (if nationally certified)
• $200 fee
24 every 2 years (304) 558-1060
www.wvmassage.org
Wisconsin • Massage Therapist
• Bodywork Therapist/License
• At least 18 years old
•High school diploma or G.E.D.
• 600 hours
• NCCAOM, MBLEx or State Law exam
N/A $82/2yr • Holds a current license
• Home state must have requirements must be equivalent to those of WI
• Personal liability insurance, with at least $1 million per occurrence and $1 million for all occurrences in one year
• Certification by NCBTMB
• Completion of at least 500 in-class hours
24 every 2 years (608) 266-2112
http://dsps.wi.gov
Wyoming No state regulation